Jan. 27, 2021

A new executive order prohibits entry of non-U.S. citizens to the U.S. from certain countries or regions in an effort to manage the spread of new COVID-19 variants.

Doug Carr, NBAA’s vice president of regulatory and international affairs, said a swiftly changing virus and a new administration could mean more changes to U.S. entry and other travel policies.

“We will likely see additional mitigation measures in the coming weeks and months as the new administration attempts to slow the spread of COVID-19,” said Carr. “Operators and crewmembers should continue to work with their international trip planning vendors and information sources and be prepared to respond to these changes. Good communication with passengers and other stakeholders is critical in order to properly manage expectations.”

Any noncitizen who was physically present within the 26 countries that make up the Schengen Area (including the UK, but excluding overseas territories outside of Europe), Ireland, Brazil and South Africa during the 14-day period preceding entry or attempted entry into the U.S. will be prohibited from entering the U.S.

The order does not apply to:

  • Lawful permanent residents of the U.S.
  • Any noncitizen national of the U.S.
  • Any noncitizen who is the spouse, child or certain other family members of a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident of the U.S.
  • Invited guests of the government for purposes of pandemic mitigation or containment
  • Noncitizen crewmembers traveling to the U.S. as air or sea crew
  • Other individuals as outlined in the order

The order will remain in effect until terminated upon recommendation by the secretary of health and human services, who must review the necessity of the restrictions no more than 30 days after issuance of the order and every calendar month thereafter.

The order essentially reinstates prohibitions from travel from the Schengen Area, Ireland and the UK, which were lifted on Jan. 19, and adds restrictions for travel from Brazil and South Africa.

Affected Countries

Schengen Area

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Other Countries

  • United Kingdom
  • Ireland
  • Brazil
  • South Africa