The National Business Aviation Association (NBAA) announced its 2018 Flying Safety Award recipients for the period ending Dec. 31, 2017. These awards serve as a testament to the high degree of professionalism and outstanding safety culture within participating companies. In total, 1,137 companies and individuals were recognized for accident/incident-free operations in 2017.

A total of six member companies are being honored for 50 years of safe operations, and one member company is being recognized for 60 years of accident-free operations.

“The NBAA Flying Safety Awards have recognized member companies for their exceptional safety records for 65 years,” said NBAA President and CEO Ed Bolen. “These member companies have proven to be industry leaders in safe operations by following safety best practices and achieving accident-free operations.”

The 50 and 60 Year Safe Flying Achievement Award recipients will be recognized during a luncheon held during NBAA’s Business Aviation Convention & Exhibition (NBAA-BACE), Oct. 16-18 in Orlando, FL.

The following companies were recognized with Safe Flying Achievement Awards:

50 Year Safe Flying Achievement Award recipients:

  • Honeywell International Flight Operations
  • Meredith Corp.
  • State of Nebraska Department of Aeronautics
  • UNC Air Operations
  • The Williams Companies, Inc.

60 Year Safe Flying Achievement Award recipient:

  • Federal-Mogul LLC

In addition to the 50 and 60-year milestones, NBAA recognized members in the following categories:

  • Company Commercial Award – 34 companies compiling 1,468,491 hours of safe operations
  • Company Corporate/ Business Award – 196 companies compiling 9,179,878 hours of safe operations
  • Company Maintenance Award – 92 companies compiling 6,088,549 hours of safe operations
  • ATP or Commercial Pilot Award – 365 pilots compiling 2,695,083 hours of safe flying
  • Private Pilot Award – 1 pilot compiling 5,088 hours of safe flying
  • Schedulers & Dispatchers Award – 63 schedulers/licensed dispatchers qualified
  • Support Services Award – 265 support personnel qualified
  • Technician Award – 213 technicians qualified

The Flying Safety Awards program was launched in 1953 by the NBAA board of directors to promote a culture of safety in business aviation operations. NBAA is committed to making business aviation as safe as possible and encourages all members to participate in the awards program to enhance safe operations and gain recognition for their outstanding performance. Learn more about the NBAA Flying Safety Awards.

The NBAA Safety Committee offers resources to promote and support a culture of safety in business aviation operations, including materials, guidance on matters relating to safe operations, safety management system resources, and national and regional safety events. Learn more about NBAA’s 2018 Top Safety Focus Areas.

Any person who attends an NBAA convention, conference, seminar or other program grants permission to NBAA, its employees and agents (collectively "NBAA") to record his or her visual/audio images, including, but not limited to, photographs, digital images, voices, sound or video recordings, audio clips, or accompanying written descriptions, and, without notifying such person, to use his or her name and such images for any purpose of NBAA, including advertisements for NBAA and its programs.