Oct. 18, 2018

The National Business Aviation Association (NBAA) today recognized 11 recipients of its annual Dr. Tony Kern Professionalism in Aviation Award, which honors individuals in the business aviation industry for outstanding professionalism and leadership in support of aviation safety.

The 2018 Kern Award winners are:

  • Christopher Algee
  • Dan Boedigheimer
  • Daniel Goldman
  • Marty Grier
  • Richard Keltner
  • George Kleros
  • Clarke McNeace
  • Adam Parnes
  • Anna Romer
  • David Small
  • Robert Snyder

“The across-the-board quality seen in this year’s nominations is a testament to the caliber of people working in business aviation,” said Mark Larsen, NBAA senior manager of safety and flight operations. “We couldn’t be more pleased to recognize these 11 individuals for their dedication to the highest levels of professionalism.”

The peer-nominated award – created to honor Dr. Tony Kern, a co-founder of Convergent Performance, distinguished U.S. Air Force veteran and author of five books on human performance – recognizes individuals who excel in leadership in the following areas:

  • Professional ethics
  • Vocational excellence
  • Continuous improvement
  • Professional engagement
  • Professional image
  • Selflessness

The nominations were vetted by a panel of NBAA Safety Committee Professionalism Working Group members. NBAA will again be accepting nominations for the 2019 awards starting in January. Learn more about the Dr. Tony Kern Professionalism in Aviation Award.

Any person who attends an NBAA convention, conference, seminar or other program grants permission to NBAA, its employees and agents (collectively "NBAA") to record his or her visual/audio images, including, but not limited to, photographs, digital images, voices, sound or video recordings, audio clips, or accompanying written descriptions, and, without notifying such person, to use his or her name and such images for any purpose of NBAA, including advertisements for NBAA and its programs.