Dec. 19, 2014

Two individuals with ties to NBAA are among the four industry legends who have been selected by the National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) to be enshrined in 2015. All four will be formally inducted into the NAHF at a ceremony in Dayton, OH on Oct. 2, 2015.

The late Robert N. Hartzell, a pioneer in propeller development, will join 225 other air and space pioneers who have been inducted by NAHF since its founding in 1962. Hartzell was inspired by neighbor Orville Wright to explore propeller manufacturing, and Hartzell’s company provided propellers used on “Liberty” engines, which powered many U.S. military aircraft during World War I. After the war, Hartzell developed lightweight and controllable propellers that helped spur worldwide development of the general aviation industry. Hartzell Propeller has been an NBAA Associate Member for decades and a regular exhibitor at the Association’s annual convention. Today, the company provides equipment for many of the business airplanes in operation worldwide.

Eugene “Gene” Kranz, the legendary NASA director of mission operations featured in the movie Apollo 13, will also be inducted into the NAHF in 2015. Kranz was a featured speaker at the opening general session of NBAA’s 2006 NBAA Schedulers & Dispatchers Conference held in San Antonio, TX, where he discussed how business aircraft schedulers and dispatchers serve as the “mission control” of their flight departments. He also participated in the second day opening general session of NBAA’s 2013 Business Aviation Convention & Exhibition (NBAA2013) in Las Vegas, NV.

“We congratulate all four industry leaders who will be inducted into the National Aviation Hall of Fame in 2015 on receiving this great honor, which is well-deserved,” said Ed Bolen, NBAA president and CEO. “Robert Hartzell and his company have made significant and lasting contributions to our industry. Gene Kranz has been a pioneer in space exploration, whose work in the undertaking of human space travel will never be forgotten. We applaud the National Aviation Hall of Fame for recognizing their outstanding achievements.”