NBAA Announces 2017 Kern Professionalism Award Recipients

Contact: Dan Hubbard, (202)

Washington, DC, Nov. 16, 2017 – The National Business Aviation Association (NBAA) has recognized 18 recipients of its annual Dr. Tony Kern Professionalism in Aviation Award, which honors individuals in the business aviation industry for outstanding professionalism and leadership in support of aviation safety.

The 2017 Kern Award winners are: 

  • Robert Agostino
  • James Albright
  • Richard Boll
  • Russell Joe Bryan
  • Steve Charbonneau
  • Gerald Ferriss
  • Jason Herman
  • Fred Karnik
  • David Keys
  • Yann Lemasson
  • William McNease
  • Rodrigo Mulchi
  • Donald Paddock
  • Paul ‘BJ’ Ransbury
  • Sarah Rovner
  • Gregory Scott
  • Jim Weaver
  • Scott White

The peer-nominated award – created to honor Dr. Tony Kern, a co-founder of Convergent Performance, distinguished U.S. Air Force veteran and author of five books on human performance – recognizes individuals who excel in leadership in the following areas:

  • Professional ethics
  • Vocational excellence
  • Continuous improvement
  • Professional engagement
  • Professional image
  • Selflessness

“We are again impressed by the number and caliber of the nominations submitted,” said Mark Larsen, NBAA senior manager of safety and flight operations. “These 18 individuals perfectly meet what Dr. Kern defines as ‘professional’.”

The nominations were vetted by a panel of NBAA Safety Committee Professionalism Working Group members. NBAA will again be accepting nominations for the 2018 awards starting in January. Learn more about the Dr. Tony Kern Professionalism in Aviation Award.

Learn more about NBAA’s efforts to promote professionalism in business aviation.