The following frequently asked questions give an overview of how the new European Part-NCC regulations will affect international operators. Operators seeking further information are encouraged to consult the provided EASA resources.

Who is affected by European Part-NCC regulations?

  • Operators of complex motor-powered aircraft registered in an EASA country and having the principal place of business in an EASA country.
  • Operators of complex motor-powered aircraft registered in a country other than an EASA country but having their principal place of business (i.e. operator is established or residing) in an EASA country.

Which countries will these regulations apply to?

The Part-NCC regulations will affect operations in all EASA countries, which are the following:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

How does the EASA define a “complex motor-powered aircraft?”

EASA defines a “complex motor-powered aircraft” as an aircraft that meets at least one of the following criteria:

  • with a maximum certificated take-off mass exceeding 5,700 kg
  • certificated for a maximum passenger seating configuration of more than nineteen
  • certificated for operation with a minimum crew of at least two pilots
  • equipped with one or more turbojet engines, or more than one turboprop engine 

I’m an affected operator – what will be required from me?

Operators will need to be familiar with the EASA Basic Regulations and the Air Operators Regulations.

Operators who will be affected should also have the following:

  • a management system proportionate to operations
  • an operational manual that correctly reflects operations
  • a training program proportionate to operation
  • an approved minimum equipment list (MEL)

What liability will non-compliant operators face?

After the Aug. 25, 2016, deadline, non-compliant owners could face civil liability and risk not being covered by insurance in case of an accident. Criminal and administrative liability are also possible, as well as operators losing their AOC.