NBAA to Recognize Flying Safety Award Recipients at Upcoming Convention in Orlando

Contact: Dan Hubbard, (202) 783-9360,

Washington, DC, Oct. 14, 2014 – In 2014, the National Business Aviation Association (NBAA) will recognize five Member Companies for outstanding safe flying achievement, as well as hundreds more companies that have collectively compiled thousands of hours of safe flying, during NBAA’s Business Aviation Convention & Exhibition (NBAA2014), taking place from Oct. 21 to 23 in Orlando, FL.

“For more than 60 years, the NBAA Flying Safety Awards have recognized Member Companies for their exceptional records of accident-free operations,” said NBAA President and CEO Ed Bolen. “By following safety best practices and achieving accident-free operations, these Member Companies have proven to be safety leaders for our industry.”

During NBAA2014, the following two companies will be presented with the 60 Year Safe Flying Achievement Award for reaching the safety milestone of flying 60 years or more without an accident

  • PepsiCo, Inc.
  • Weyerhaeuser Co.

Three additional companies will be presented with the 50 Year Safe Flying Achievement Award for reaching the safety milestone of flying 50 years or more without an accident. Those companies are:

  • Brunswick Corp.
  • Cummins, Inc.
  • Sprint Flight Operations

Aside from these safe flying achievement milestones, NBAA has separately awarded many additional Members in the following categories:

  • Corporate Business Flying Safety Award – 276 companies have compiled 10,830,252 safe hours.
  • Commercial Business Flying Safety Award – 51 companies have compiled 2,916,898 safe hours.
  • ATP or Commercial Pilot Safety Award – 569 pilots have flown 4,406,320 safe hours.
  • Private Pilot Safety Award – one pilot has flown 4,649 safe hours (this new award category was first introduced in 2013).
  • Aviation Maintenance Department Safety Award – 124 companies have qualified for this award.
  • Maintenance/Avionics Technician Safety Award – 340 technicians have qualified for this award.
  • Aviation Support Services Safety Award – 339 support services personnel have qualified for this award.

The awards are based on each company’s safety record compiled as of Dec. 31, 2013.

The NBAA Board of Directors established its Flying Safety Awards program in 1953, and has since recognized thousands of Member Companies and individuals for their aviation safety records.

NBAA and its Member Companies are committed to making business aviation as safe as possible, as evidenced by this year’s NBAA Flying Safety Awards. NBAA’s Safety Committee is committed to enhancing all aspects of business aviation safety by providing materials, advice and guidance on matters relating to the safe operation of aircraft.

The Association also offers a wide range of resources to help promote a culture of safety in business aviation operations, including the annual Safety Town Hall Meeting being held on Oct. 21 during NBAA2014, the Safety Committee’s Top Safety Focus Areas, safety management system resources and support of safety events at the national and regional levels.

For more information:

# # #

Founded in 1947 and based in Washington, DC, the National Business Aviation Association (NBAA) is the leading organization for companies that rely on general aviation aircraft to help make their businesses more efficient, productive and successful. The Association represents more than 10,000 companies and provides more than 100 products and services to the business aviation community, including the NBAA Business Aviation Convention & Exhibition, the world’s largest civil aviation trade show. Learn more about NBAA at

Members of the media may receive NBAA Press Releases immediately via email. To subscribe to the NBAA Press Release email list, submit the online form.